Week 1- On Sundays We Wear Pink

On Sundays We Wear Pink (because Wednesday is P-Day)

     Thank you to everyone who has taken time to send letters and packages! We get almost no down time at all so its nice to have something in the mail.
     My first experience in the Missionary Training Center was one of pure fear. I got up to drop off my bags at my room and two of my room mates were already there, Elder Steward and Elder Low. They told me that the entire floor spoke Korean and have no idea why I would be there. Apparently I was supposed to shrug that fact off and keep moving. Within 20 minutes of being kicked to the curb I was sitting in class hearing our teacher speak only Spanish. I though “this is what Sr. Bogan prepared me for!” as I understood 1 word in every sentence. By the third day my companion and I taught our investigator in Spanish for the first time. We basically just bore our testimony on Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ for 20 minutes. We have met with her two more times since then and are making great progress!
     On Sunday we walked up to the temple with our district. There are 12 of us in total. 10 elders and two Hermanas. Each person is so much fun and brings a unique spirit to the group. Elder Nelson from Virginia, Elder Hansen from Utah, Elder Kelley from Utah. Elder Schone from Boise, Elder Loader from Utah, Elder Ostregar from Utah, Elder Bayles from Wyoming, Elder Neville from Utah, Elder Ellinghaus from Texas, Sister Hodgson from Utah and Sister George from Provo. All great people! Elder Nelson was quoted being “the crippled missionary who uses humor as a crutch.” And Sister George could rival Tina Fey in an eye rolling competition.
     That night we watched Elder Bednar’s talk “Character of Christ” It was the most amazing address I have ever heard and felt like it was meant just for me almost 15 years later. Despite it being meant for missionaries I recommend everyone watch/listen to it.
     Wednesday is my preparation-day. Its the only day I can email and respond to anyone for the next six weeks. DearElder.com is a great way to get mail to me.
     The spirit is strong and the gift of tongues is real.
     Hablare luego amigos!
     Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

