“Don’t be Dumb”

This week got kicked off with interviews with the mission president.
Apparently the procedure for preparing for an interview with president
is to rack your mind looking for anything and everything you have done
wrong in the last three months in order to mentally prepare for a
verbal beating. This is to say that I was very disappointed that my
interview was cheerful, supportive, and all around uneventful.
President is very loving to his missionaries, therefore he is not
afraid to scrunch his brow every once in a while. Turns out the
paranoia was just that, paranoia. Everybody got away without a
scratch.

On Thursday was my very first zone conference. I got to finally meet
all the names that I had heard so much about. I’m told this ranked
among some of the most boring zone conferences in the recent past.
Most of it was filled with policy. President is tired of hearing
missionaries ask him for every little rule. He clarified rules that
already existed and shot down rules that he claims we made up. We had
an hour long discussion on music that ended with “govern yourselves,
don’t be dumb.”

All this interaction with president and other missionaries has gotten
me nervous about transfers coming up. I don’t want to leave but I
think the odds are against me. Few companionships stay together for 3
transfers. There are 5 Spanish speaking Elders coming into the mission
and I think it is likely Elder Céspedes could be training again. We
will wait and see, transfers are on the ninth.

We had another baptism on Saturday. A little boy named Manny. He has a
great family that we have been working with a lot. His older brother
went up and bore his testimony and got the whole family crying
including the non-member dad and grandma. There was an awesome spirit
there. I will get the pictures to show y’all next week.

We had exchanges again this week and I taught a family the Plan of
Salvation without Elder Céspedes. It was great to push me out of my
comfort zone. At the end of the lesson I committed them to baptism for
mid November. I hope I can stay and work with them for a long time.

We found another really solid investigator this week. She has a family
of seven kids and she seems really interested. We teach the first
lesson this week. That puts us at 10 new investigators this month.
That’s huge.

We hit Standards of Excellence this week. That means we hit all the
goals set by President. We are really happy but we are focused on the
repeat.

Sorry for the lack of pictures, I’ll make up for them next week.

One thought on ““Don’t be Dumb”

Leave a Reply

