A Chilly 85 degrees

My new area is called Agua Fria West. It is in Peoria, so only 5 miles
west of Monte Vista. My companion’s name is Elder Pennington. He is
from Alabama. He has been out exactly 23 months now. Despite the
looming departure, he is a diligent missionary and a great example for
me. Both of us got put into the area at the same time so we are a
little lost. It could be worse though. He served in this ward for 6
months earlier in his mission. All the members are absolutely thrilled
to see him again he is doing his best to not tell people that he will
only be here for a month.

The ward is really strong. We have a great ward mission leader and
everyone is really involved in the work.

In total there are like 180 missionaries in the APM. There are about
30 Spanish missionaries (8 sisters, the rest Elders) in the mission
and 10 wards and branches. Most of the wards have more than one
companionship.

I did have one great accomplishment this week. I haven’t gotten a
single speeding violation! Part of that is that I haven’t gone over
twenty all week and part of it is that they didn’t give us a car. We
are on all bike. In the end, we did end up begging a car off the
Vehicle coordinator since our dinners are all over the stake. My
companion reminded me that if I was going to be in a bike area this is
the time of year for it. Being November that means it is only a chilly
85 degrees.

There aren’t nearly as many Spanish speakers in Peoria and therefore
not as many investigators either. I am starting to realize how
fruitful Monte Vista was.

There are 4 Spanish Elders in the ward. President decided to make us
one district so that we could have district meeting together in
Spanish. I think the language is really improving. Now that my
companion isn’t native people don’t automatically talk to him
primarily.

In a way, I’m glad I was transferred because it marks a definite point
of ending training and becoming a normal missionary. No more excuses.
I’m excited and I know the Lord has a purpose for me here. Thanks for
all your emails. I love you all.

Elder Walker

Here is a picture of me and one of my roommates.
And the closest thing I cold get to a district picture (my companion
is in the back).

Leave a Reply

